Site-mapping of PTM- how to know whether it is real

If it doesn't fit into any other category post it here.
Pippuri
Phosphoserine Member
Phosphoserine Member

Site-mapping of PTM- how to know whether it is real

Postby Pippuri » Mon Mar 19, 2012 7:25 am

Hi All,

I am wondering whether anyone can share their experience/tips with manual data interpretation for PTM assignment. I have to confess (once again) that I am a amateur in mass-spec, so, I will not be offended if you feel like explaining things to a kindergarten kid.

Here is the thing- After optimizing everything for sample prep, I was able to obtain ~80% coverage (based on sequest search) on my protein of interested. I was told that, since my protein is fairly big (>180kDa), this is a good thing. But, the sad thing is, I don't get any modified peptides that have decent Xcorr. However, I was also told not to expect any high Xcorr from the modified peptides, because they don't, and that I should go through my data manually.

So, the next thing is to go through my data manually. I have run my samples many times with CID/ETD (decision-tree), HCD/ETD. Based on what I read in the literature, looking for the oxonium ions specific to the PTM under HCD fragmentation is the most reliable way to locate a modified peptide.-- But how to do that, exactly?

I have started with looking at all the spectra pulled out by sequest, says, an ETD spectrum that the software determined there is a PTM on it, and looked the the HCD spectrum from the same precursor ion for the oxonium ions. So far, every attempt come out fruitless!!

So, for all the experts out there, can you please share your experience with me?

Million THANKS!!!

Doug
E. Coli Lysate Member
E. Coli Lysate Member

Postby Doug » Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:01 am