Can you see DNA damage in a Q extactive off a C18 column?

Share questions, papers, etc. involving metabolomics research.
Jen_G
Angiotensin Member
Angiotensin Member

Can you see DNA damage in a Q extactive off a C18 column?

Postby Jen_G » Mon Apr 01, 2013 2:54 pm

I am throwing this question out there. I am wondering if I could detected damaged nucleotides extracted from cells treated with mutagens in the mass spec? Is it like PTMs in proteomics, where you have to enrich PTMs from the proteome in order to reliably see them by mass spec? I have no experience and would like to see if it is a feasible project.

Doug
E. Coli Lysate Member
E. Coli Lysate Member

Postby Doug » Sun Apr 07, 2013 6:56 pm

I do believe that you can separate DNA using C18 columns but the mobile and stationary phases would probably need to be slightly different from those used to separate proteins and peptides. I am not sure exactly how you will design your experiment but think the ionization (preferences for certain lengths of oligos), fragmentation (you may need very even fragmentation patterns for sequencing), data interpretation, and sample complexity (depending on your experiment design you could have orders of magnitude more analytes) are going to be bigger problems. In most cases LCMS is not going to be your best option to analyze oligonucleotides. But it can be done (and has been) and I am sure there are reasons to do so.
"If we knew what we were doing it wouldn't be research." -AE

Kelstrup
Angiotensin Member
Angiotensin Member

Postby Kelstrup » Mon Apr 08, 2013 1:27 am

I've found it very hard to interpret the fragmentation spectra of DNA compared to peptides. Loads of repeated subunits having the same mass. YMMV :)

Jen_G
Angiotensin Member
Angiotensin Member

Postby Jen_G » Wed Apr 10, 2013 5:00 pm